May 11, 2012

  • Soulmate.



    "Soul mate: two little words, one big concept.
    A belief that someone, somewhere, is holding the key to your heart."
    - Carrie Bradshaw

    It scares me sometimes when I see how lightly some people treat relationships. How it has lost it's sanctity and meaning. I know I'm in no position to judge. Every relationship has their fair share of trauma and misunderstandings, but what happened to fighting to the very last breath?

    What is this concept of 'soul mates' anyway? Is it possible to make a mistake and miss your soul mate? Who made the rules? Who determines the boundaries?

    I thought I met my soul mate once. Someone who understood me so thoroughly and so clearly. I was so sure that no matter who I ended up marrying, he would always be my soul mate. Who said soul mates needed to be together anyway?

    Of course, things have changed, people changed, I lived and I learned. I don't know if I believe in meeting your perfect soul mate anymore, but I do know that you can make someone your soul mate. You can make that promise to have and to hold, to love and to cherish till death do you part.

    Love is all about fighting. You fight to stay together, or you fight to be apart. Somewhere, somehow, someone might raise the white flag.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *